Champ is 3—milestones and memories

 

I’m all about remembering sweet things about my boys and collecting them so that I can look back in the future. I am not, however, all about scrapbooking. I think it’s fun, but I also think it’s incredibly time, space, and cash consuming. When Champ turned 2, I made him a book from Shutterfly that went from his first birthday to the month before his second birthday. It’s basically a digital scrapbook printed out. The prices range a lot, starting at $13, and you can get coupons if you pay attention. Right now they’re having sale and you can save 10%-50%. The code is on the site. If it has expired since I post this, it will not be on the site. There are other places to make the books, too, I just like the Shutterfly designs the best. And as some of you know, I’m a design snob. Anyway, making a photo book per year per kid is just not feasible for us. At least it won’t be once we have a houseful of kids. And I know the more kids you have, the fewer photos you take of each. C’est la vie.

I do plan on making the photobooks for each child at least for their baby years. This Christmas I’ll finally get Champ’s first year done, and in the spring I’ll do Lion’s first year for his birthday. But I needed an idea for a scrapbook alternative for each child as they grow older.

I’m a bit of a Pinterest addict, so I’m always collecting milestone and memory ideas for the kids in my a full house board and birthday boards (I have a TON of boards…and pin a lot, especially to my geeky boards. Fair warning if you want to follow me.) There were two pins in particular that I knew I wanted to start them with Champ when he turned 3.

Birthday Photo Letter

The first one is like a journal, photo, and letter in one. Here’s the original.

Champ 3 letter

This is the blog version. I have one using his actual name to put in an album later, with the interview below.

Birthday Interview

The second one is a list of 20 questions, and you can find the original here. I changed some of the questions to better suit our family. (I found the food questions to be repetitive). These will live on the blog until I have enough to make a book, or until Champ can start writing them himself.

Me: I’m going to ask you some questions for your birthday, okay?

Champ: Okay.

 What is your favorite color? 

Yellow. And blue and green and white!

What is your favorite toy?

My LeapPad.

What is your favorite TV show?

Bus!

Magic School Bus. That’s right. What is your favorite thing to eat? 

Juice.

Juice is something you drink. What do you like to eat?

Ice cream.

What is your favorite thing to wear?

[His Michelangelo mask, from Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, that he bought for his birthday]

What is your favorite game?

Candy Land?

no.

Memory?

yeah.

What’s your favorite animal?

Yar! [the lions at the zoo]

What is your favorite song?

Oh yeah. [Walk Off The Earth’s “Red Hands.” The “oh yeah” part makes it the only song he can actually sing along with]

Good choice, but maybe not entirely appropriate for a preschooler… What’s your favorite book?

[Little People’s Busy People.]

Who is your best friend?

Is Mommy and Daddy okay?

Yeah, that’s okay…

happy-cuteness-overload

What’s your favorite thing to do outside?

Drive. [He means his ride on John Deere Gator]

What is your favorite holiday?

It’s happy birthday.

 What do you like to take to bed with you at night?

[Ollie the elephant, his Scentsy buddy]

What do you want to be when you grow up?

Up high [he flies his hand above his head] and with a car.

Like an astronaut?

Yeah.

What’s your favorite movie? [I lined up five of his favorites for him to choose from]

Nemo!

Who’s your favorite person in a movie? [This will evolve to favorite superhero or fictional character]

Po. [From Kung Fu Panda]

What’s your favorite subject in school?

[Play-doh]

Where’s your favorite place to go visit?

Gigi’s house!

What’s your favorite sport?

Hockey. [His cousins taught him how to play it with his toy golf clubs]

How would you describe yourself?

[Three. He hasn’t started using adjectives yet—he pretty much sticks to nouns right now]

– – – – – – – – –

I’ll keep my eyes out for 8×8 albums for the boys, and once I find some, I’ll print the photo letters to put on one side and put the interviews or Q&As on the right side, like this.

I still need to post the book and cookie lists from his birthday, as well as the photos from his birthday shoot. I’ll include some tips on taking your own photos of rambunctious camera-ditchers, too. Be sure to follow, subscribe, or become a fan on Facebook so you don’t miss them when they come!

5 thoughts on “Champ is 3—milestones and memories

  1. Pingback: Taking Good Photos of Active Kids | diary of a bewildered mother

  2. Pingback: Ezra turns three! | Beautiful In His Time

  3. Pingback: Lion Turns 3 Interview | diary of a bewildered mother

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

