Variations on a PB&J

pbj

I love Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches, lemme tell you.

But sometimes it’s fun to mix things up. I recently saw an article in the newspaper about a PBRB sandwich, inspired by Weelicious. It got me thinking about a bunch of variations for the PB&J, and I thought I’d share a bunch here, and get some more ideas from you fine people!

Variation #1: Very ImPRESSED

Weelicious gives the secret to The World’s Greatest Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich: A Waffle Iron!

The waffle iron works like a panini press and grills your sandwich. It’s also relatively safe for children to use (supervised, of course!). Just lightly butter the waffle iron, place the sandwich, and press for 2 minutes. Click the link above for a video How-To.

Variation #2: Breads

Try a different kind of bread than usual. How about a multi-grain, potato, nutty, sunflower seed, or cinnamon bread?

Variation #3: Peanut Butter

There’s smooth peanut butter and chunky peanut butter. Try almond butter, cashew butter, sunflower seed butter, hazelnut spread, or even Nutella.

Variation #4: Jelly

Jelly, Fruit Preserves, Jam. Apparently there is a difference to these. There’s marmalade, too. There are so many different flavors out there, try something new, like Strawberry Rhubarb or Cherry.

Try fresh fruit, like mashed banana, or berries or even applesauce. If the fruit is especially thin, or if you won’t be eating the sandwich straight away, then be sure to use peanut butter on both sides of the bread, and put the fruit in the middle. The PB works as a barrier to prevent soggy bread.

Or toss the fruit and add honey or Nutella. Peanut Butter & Nutella sandwiches are the Captain’s specialty. I am not a fan of Nutella, so when I make the sandwiches, Champ gets the same as whatever I’m making for myself.

The PBRB Sandwich

PBRB is peanut butter, mashed banana, and raspberries, placed between two slices of bread and “grilled” on the waffle iron.

Waffle Iron Review

So I tried this today on Champ’s lunch (see top photo) as well as my own. It was okay, but not amazing. The taste would be similar if I just toasted the bread and then proceeded to make the sandwich. But maybe the excitement of using a waffle iron is enough to get a child to eat the sandwich with a smile. The biggest “con” about the waffle iron, though, is clean up. My waffle iron’s got peanut butter and jelly all over it now. Unless you have incredibly dense bread, I would expect a similar outcome. I think I’d prefer to use the griddle and just grill them that way, like a grilled cheese.

Will I try it again? Maybe. While making the sandwiches, I spotted a bag of marshmallows on the counter. If I use the waffle iron again, I might try making a s’more sandwich with chocolate peanut butter (you could use Nutella, if that’s your thing) and giant marshmallows. Then again, I could always just buy the marshmallow spread itself.

What are your personal favorites?

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

