The Marines Hymn

Well, it’s about time I mentioned why I haven’t blogged in a hundred years. LT is getting out of the active Marine Corps. We are pretty emotionally torn, and you can imagine how much decision-making and confusion has come up in the past couple of weeks. While LT is proud to be a Marine, and I am incredibly proud of him, we are looking forward to starting a new chapter in our lives. We are hoping to continue through the Marine Corps Reserves (I say “we”—it’s all him, but if one member is in the Marine Corps, the whole family is a Marine Corps family).

We have some direction, but our plans will likely not be made permanent or public until July, which is when we will be moving. We appreciate your prayers and support as we go through this transition from military to civilian and try to find jobs and a new home.

This week we went to what might be our last military ball, which chokes me up typing about it, but we had an extraordinary time. I’m trying not to think how much I will miss, but rather look forward to the future. We know that God is in control, and that he will take care of us and bring us something even better, whether we can wrap our minds around that or not.

In honor of our time in the Marine Corps, this week’s patriotic song is “The Marines’ Hymn.”

Wikipedia article

Library of Congress sheet music and Military MP3s

My no-frills recording (I couldn’t seem to get through the 3rd verse, so here’s the first two.)

Though he only served in the Active Marine Corps for a few years, my husband joined the military during wartime, wanting to serve his country and protect the lives of Americans. He went through rigorous mental and physical training to become an officer, and he’s earned every single one of the medals on his uniform. I am so very proud of him, and he will always be my hero, whether he’s a Marine or civilian.

4 thoughts on “The Marines Hymn

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

