Free Music?

I sing Little Champ to sleep every day and lately the song that has been knocking him out has been “You Belong to Me.” Now, I’ve been planning for a while to record a bunch of the lullabies I sing to him, a cappella, no frills, nothing fancy, and put them onto a CD for us to play for him if I’m not around or if I lose my voice, or if he’s having trouble staying asleep.

Then I thought, if I’m going to do that anyway, why not share the songs with you fine people so you can have a CD of free lullabies for your children?

Here are some of the songs I’d probably record for a lullaby collection:

  • You Belong to Me
  • Golden Slumbers
  • My Favorite Things
  • A Blanket for a Sail
  • Que Sera, Sera
  • You are My Sunshine
  • Good Night Sweetheart, Good Night
  • The Rainbow Connection

There are more, I’m sure. That’s off the top of my head.

I’m still up to the idea, I’m just not sure how to do it. I’d have to pay $20 per year to upload them on WordPress, which honestly I’d rather not do since I already have a negative income (my business costs more than I make, which is why we will probably end up listing my expenses as a “hobby” on our taxes). I’ve tried FileDen, a file hosting website, but WordPress doesn’t recognize the URL, and therefore won’t post it.

Email is an option, but I’d prefer not doing that, either, unless I created an email specifically for this blog. Privacy, you understand. Also, I don’t want to get a ton of spam for posting my email address online.

I could do YouTube, but then you’d have to get creative to find ways to harvest the audio (MP3) from the video.

Would anybody actually want these Mp3s? Any other ideas on how to get the files to you? Any favorite lullabies I didn’t mention? Anybody aware of whether this is completely illegal?

That last one is mostly a joke. I’m pretty sure it’s fine for me to distribute covers of songs to you as long as I’m not making any money by doing so.

  • There are more, I’m sure. That’s off the top of my head.You Belong to Me
  • Golden Slumbers
  • My Favorite Things
  • A Blanket for a Sail
  • Que Sera, Sera
  • You are My Sunshine
  • Good Night Sweetheart, Good Night
  • The Rainbow Connection

I’m still up to the idea, I’m just not sure how to do it. I’d have to pay $20 per year to upload them on WordPress, which honestly I’d rather not do since I already have a negative income (my business costs more than I make, which is why we will probably end up listing my expenses as a “hobby” on our taxes). I’ve tried FileDen, a file hosting website, but WordPress doesn’t recognize the URL, and therefore won’t post it.

Email is an option, but I’d prefer not doing that, either, unless I created an email specifically for this blog. Privacy, you understand. Also, I don’t want to get a ton of spam for posting my email address online.

I could do YouTube, but then you’d have to get creative to find ways to harvest the audio (MP3) from the video.

Would anybody actually want these Mp3s? Any other ideas on how to get the files to you? Any favorite lullabies I didn’t mention? Anybody aware of whether this is completely illegal?

That last one is mostly a joke. I’m pretty sure it’s fine for me to distribute covers of songs to you as long as I’m not making money for it.

5 thoughts on “Free Music?

  1. I’d be interested. I’ve never used them but I’ve heard of dropbox.com and 4shared.com … I can try to research more.

  2. Hi, cute idea, I sing to my grandchildren all the time. To the youngest I started sing “Moon RIver” the night he was born and to this day (he is now 3) it still sooths him.

    Not that I have any knowledge of the legalities, but you just might want to check it out, I have heard that restaurants can’t sing the traditional “Happy Birthday” song because of legal issues so they create those crazy “Happy..Happy. Birthday” tunes.

    Just a thought. Good luck!!

    • I wonder if singing at the restaurant is considered a public performance…or if they might be getting compensated for it, if the song results in a higher tip? Not sure. I’ll have to look and see if I can distribute them. Thanks!

  3. I can think of a couple of good options for hosting the files…One would be Soundcloud, another would be Bandcamp, and another would be sticking them in a public dropbox folder.

    Ryan

    • I just paid the $20 to host them on wordpress. If I cover a copyrighted song, I’ll pay the rights for that song using any funds from the tip jar. If people leave tips, they can also leave song requests.

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

