Wrapping Paper and Christmas Cards

Wrapping presents and Christmas cards can be one of the most fun (or most stressful) parts of Christmas.

Here are my solutions to two common headaches of the holiday season:

Christmas Cards

Mailing out cards and letters every year can be really expensive, so we decided to save some money by making a couple of changes.

  1. First, while gathering our Christmas mailing list, I asked who would prefer receiving a digital copy. That slashed my price in half right there, because about 50% of our list said they would prefer emailed cards.
  2. I designed postcards myself and had them printed on card stock. Mine are 5×7 so they are frame-able, and they fit 2 per 8.5″ x 11″ sheet, but you could fit divide a sheet into fourths and make a smaller postcard. Print on the back side in black and white, or leave blank when printing and hand write on the back. Postage in 2011 for postcards is $0.29.
  3. On the back of the postcards, I included a link to where our family and friends can find our Christmas letter online. If you have a blog, post yours on there and make it password-protected.
  4. For the couple of families who are not internet-savvy, I am printing the letters in color and sending those with our postcards in a manilla envelope.

How are you doing Christmas cards?

Speaking of Christmas cards, I am always wondering how to display them and can never find an idea I really like.

Today, though, I saw this idea: Use a beaded “ribbon” and lanyard hooks! Brilliant, cheap, and pretty!

Find the instructions here.

Wrapping presents

Little Champ has already unwrapped several presents under the tree, which is why I am anxious to finish the project I am currently working on.

My grandmother would sew pillowcases, put our presents in them, and then tie them shut with a ribbon. You can use these “bags” over and over again! Sure, wrapping paper can be pretty cheap, but think about a time you had to wrap a really awkwardly shaped gift, or you cut the paper juuuuust a sliver too short, so you have to cover the opening with an extra panel of paper, which you tape all the way around.

If you’re considering tossing the paper and scotch tape out the window, this craft might be for you!

If you want these to be multitasking bags, sew a bunch of pillowcases. I decided on drawstring bags, though, of various and random sizes. While I still have to sew them all up, I thought I’d let you know I’m doing it NOW, so that if you think, “Hey, that’s a good idea. I’d like to try it,” then you can buy the fabric now and make them before Christmas, instead of waiting for me to be done procrastinating, which might very well be Christmas Eve at 7 pm.

The best part? I don’t have to post a tutorial because so many have already made drawstring bags and put tutorials online!

To watch a video tutorial, go here.

Or to read a tutorial, go here.

Or, if you want to skip the sewing all together, gather up some pillowcases and those drawstring bags your sheets come in (you know, the kind you get in the college section at Target), and use those instead!

Let me know how it goes! I’ll post photos when I’m finally done.

2 thoughts on “Wrapping Paper and Christmas Cards

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

