Little Champ in Colorado

Little Champ and I went to Colorado. If you follow me on twitter, you know how much of a nightmare coming back home was, with all the flight delays. (We got home 27 hours after leaving my parents’ house…it should have taken 15)

But I don’t want to talk about that, and you don’t want to hear about it. You want to see pictures of my baby in Colorado, no?

Now, when I say “Colorado,” I’m sure you picture something like this:

photo by Dhaval Shreyas

Most people I meet who have never been to Colorado don’t realize that only a tiny part of the state looks like what you see above. In fact, a lot of it looks like the Middle East:

Grand Junction, CO (No, I never lived in Kabul.)

I grew up seeing a whole lot of tans and browns instead of greens, dry shrubs instead of leafy trees.

circa 2007.

Basically, I got out of there as soon as I could to the emerald rolling hills of Minnesota. It’s no Ireland, but it’s halfway there. You might look at the pictures above and wonder why I don’t like the scenery where I grew up. You might think, “Hey, the grass is always greener.” True. It is in Minnesota.

Anyway, the valley I used to call home is actually quite a bit greener this year. I lived there during a long drought, and this spring they’ve had nothing but rain. If I had ever gotten out of my parents’ house when I was there, I might have gone out and taken some photos of the scenery. But here’s photos of Little Champ in the Centennial State:

excited to see his uncles

Fun on the trampoline with his uncles (no bouncing!)

This is fun, momma

Witnessing sibling rivalry IN ACTION

Trying out a camping chair in the new Cabella's (so Colorado)

Having a blast in the pool

Standing like a Champ (with support)

This bottle kept him entertained for 1 of the 7 hours in the ATL airport

Back home: baby jet lag

One thought on “Little Champ in Colorado

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

