Wedding: Part Two

Part One

Part Two: The Ceremony

“Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” was the processional, and we all sang the third verse of the hymn during the ceremony. A friend of mine played the violin for us. “How Deep the Father’s Love for Us” was the Wedding March.

My little brother was our ring bearer, and my cousin was the flower girl. The dress and pillow were eBay finds. The basket was from Michael’s. I willingly gave up my dream of having the ring bearer dressed up like Frodo Baggins (ha…hahaha). I still would have liked to have a picture of it, though!

We got married at Fort Snelling Memorial Chapel in Minneapolis. I especially like how it harkens back to castles and the story of how we met.

The chapel granted my wish of stained glass windows. LT’s church met in a gymnasium, and mine had a contemporary auditorium. Anything comparable to the chapel that would let us have LT’s dad marry us was at least $3,000 to rent. Our entire budget was $5,000, so this was a great find—$500 with military discount—and it was perfect for us.

This is one of my favorite photos. The chapel let us use all of their candles and candle holders for a small fee. We were married after Christmas, so they nicely left up the Christmas lights and red ribbons for us. The caretaker was seriously the sweetest, cutest old man I’ve ever met (you know, besides my great grandpas).

To have and to hold, from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness or in health, to love and to cherish ’till death do us part.

LT’s dad was a Navy Captain. After he retired, he became a pastor. It was important to LT and me to have him perform our wedding for us.

One of my favorite features of my dress: POCKETS.

Did I mention LT and I are big Star Wars fans? He was slightly upset because his uniform restricted him from putting his arms above his head. Dress blues aren’t exactly combat-ready.

Photos by Beautiful Era. Location: Fort Snelling Memorial Chapel

Next: the Reception.

4 thoughts on “Wedding: Part Two

  1. Pingback: Wedding: Part One | Diary of a Bewildered Mother

  2. You totally should have had the ring-bearer dress as Frodo. Especially since your brother is such a little guy :) It would’ve been so cute!

    • Believe me, if I had had the time, I would have! But finding a place for us to get married alone took 4 months of planning (it was a nightmare, but we found the perfect spots). By the time we had locations set, I was back in school. I had that to deal with, plus the rest of the planning, plus all the decorations and design and printing to do. Ufda!
      My kids are getting wedding planners.

  3. Pingback: Wedding: Part Three | diary of a bewildered mother

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

