Mommy Blogging

Sometimes I feel put to shame by other mommy bloggers. They actually blog. I, on the other hand, do not have what I call a “high-demand” baby, but I do have a baby. And let’s face it, all babies are pretty high demand, even ones so happy as my own.

I don’t call Champ a high-demand baby because he isn’t screaming all the time, and I can leave him in the swing for about 10 minutes at a time without him freaking out. When he is going through a growth spurt, which seems to be a lot lately (he has reached the big 3 month-er), he wants to eat and wants to be held and does not want to sleep.

I don’t know if other mom bloggers have kids that are content sitting in a swing for hours on end or what. Maybe they can actually survive on 5-8 hours of sleep. Since I was pregnant, I haven’t been able to function on less than 9.

All babies are different, just like all mommies are different. Champ wants to snuggle? I am going to cuddle him and play with him and make him smile. I am also still a newlywed (celebrating my anniversary with my husband later this month). In other words, I am still trying to figure out the whole “wife” thing on top of momdom.

Also, apparently some mom bloggers actually get paid. Yeah, I don’t. See, that means I would have to have sponsors, and then I would have to have ads on my blog and put in a good word for those sponsors. So while I may put in a good word for a product or two, I am not getting endorsed for anything I say. If you have known me for more than 5 minutes or have read any other posts, you know that I am a very cheap person. If I find something I want to spend money on, it is going to be something that 1) is worth spending the money on for quality’s sake, 2) is something that I need or is incredibly cute or awesome, and 3) I don’t have the means or ability to make myself.

Also I think it would be hypocritical of me to try and live less materialistically at home, but on my blog promote things.

So, dear readers, here’s the bottom line. Two lines.

One, I blog for fun, not money. I will not put ads on my site, and if I promote a product, it is because I like that product. I don’t think you need to buy everything from that company and I am trying to save your money just as much as I save my own.

Two, if you aren’t hearing from me, it’s because I am spending time with these guys:

I know you understand.

<3 C.

3 thoughts on “Mommy Blogging

  1. I normally find mommy bloggers insufferable and I find you rather engaging, so don’t feel like you’re a bad mommy blogger at all.

    My favourite of your posts are the ones just telling about what’s going on in your life or things. These require you to go live life before writing about it.

    If you were like a lot of mommy blogs, who write post upon post about their choice of natural diaper or the best breast pump, I’d be seriously tempted to unsubscribe.

    And even if you don’t get advertising or sponsored posts, there may be other ways to make money from blogging, so don’t put it out of your mind entirely.

    • Well, I might talk about diapers or breastpumps sometimes, but I won’t write a dozen posts on them. In fact, I will make sure the title makes it obvious if a post is primarily going to be talking about products, etc. So you can skip those :)

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

