Commencing Mom-dom

♫♪ I’m a mommy now! ♪♫

Well, the past 2 and a half weeks have just flown by (ish).

My little man is growing, growing! At his 2 week check up last Friday, he weighed 7 lbs 13 oz and measured 20 inches. Since he was 6 lbs 4 oz at our discharge (he was born 6 lbs 11 oz, 18.5 inches), he gained a pound and a half and grew one and a half inches!

Since he has been born, Champ has rolled over from his tummy to his back twice, which is ridiculous, since most babies don’t do that until they are 4 months old. He did it the first time at 6 days. Seriously, baby. I already love you like nobody’s business. You don’t need to show off for Mommy.

Little Champ has also accomplished peeing, pooping, and spitting up, simultaneously, when I was changing him. Now, I worked at a preschool for four years, being on potty patrol (I was always the one who ended up doing the dirty work), and I would frequently be places watching the big babies who weren’t potty-trained yet, so I have dealt with and am used to the number ones and number twos. And complete messes involving both of them.

But I just have to laugh at how unprepared I was, and still am, for how gross spitting up is sometimes. I don’t want to go into details, so I will spare you from describing the variety of consistencies this kid can produce. But man, can he launch that liquid sometimes. I had the honor of being spit up on twice—soaked—within a matter of minutes at about 5 a.m. today. Nothing like cold secretions running down your neck and chest to wake you up in the morning.

The smell makes LT nauseated, and he is a man with an iron stomach. Watching me squeeze out a baby was one thing, but seeing stuff shoot out of his son is a different story.

Speaking of stories, LT and I seem to enjoy story time infinitely more than Champ right now. We were giggling immensely when LT was reading “Mouse and the Magic Paints” to all of us. It will be lovely when Champ is old enough to enjoy his parents’ odd, corny senses of humor and laugh with us. (Though after that, I am sure he will be laughing at us instead…)

Nursing is going really well now. There have definitely been some challenges we have had to work out. I will probably blog more about breastfeeding in another post, one that my terrified male readers can skip reading.

Becoming a new mother has definitely been a life change. I haven’t gotten the baby blues or PPD, thank the Lord, but the amount? number? of hormones surging through my body did make my eyes well up a few times. I only have cried when I was extremely, extremely tired, and that was this Saturday morning. Sometimes Champ just cries. Usually he is a very content baby, and will just fuss a little when he is gassy or cold (usually I can tell when he’s hungry before he starts crying for that reason). But other times, he just wants to be held.

Physically, I have made some changes (obviously). I was 163 lbs (with clothes and shoes) at my last appointment, the day before Champ was born. That is 37 pounds more than my pre-pregnancy weight, and seeing the results on the scale made me feel pretty queasy. I lost 10-12 pounds just giving birth, but after delivery, the place where my baby had been was now a jelly roll of squish. While LT and I did have some amusement poking me liked the Pilsbury Doughboy, the sludge around my midsection was not something I wanted to see, especially with all the red stretch marks radiating around my navel.

Just breastfeeding has gotten me down to the 130s. I know the last 10 pounds are going to be hard to lose. It’s cooling off here in North Carolina finally, so I am looking forward to taking Champ out for walks around the neighborhood. I would have liked to have started yoga again already, but even standing sometimes has made me light-headed and dizzy in the last couple of weeks, so I am going to be easy on myself until I am fully recovered from delivery.

I have learned how to do a lot of things with one hand, like typing, and plenty of other things around the house, since most of my days right now are spent holding and/or feeding the baby. We do have a bouncy seat and a swing for him, plus a Moby wrap carrier so I can hold him hands-free, but he doesn’t like being in them for long amounts of time, he is eating constantly, and he just likes the warmth of Mom and Dad.

I’ve made some emotional changes, too, obviously. Call it Oxytocin, call it instinct, or whatever, but I would do anything for this kid. I just love him so much, and seeing and hearing him cry just breaks my heart, but being able to pick up my child and hold him close and say, “It’s okay, Mommy’s here. Mommy’s got you,” might just be the most rewarding experience of my life.

I’ve already learned a few things about motherhood:

  • Pediatricians and “baby experts” change their minds every decade. So giving my baby a pacifier before he is 1-2 months old and letting him sleep on his tummy every once in a while do not make me a bad mother.
  • You cannot spoil a newborn by holding him too much or responding to his crying. Responding to his crying allows him to trust you and know you will take care of him.
  • At the same time, babies sometimes comfort themselves. Letting him cry for 15 seconds or so before responding is just fine.
  • I am not a bad mom if I am not holding my baby 24/7. I am a good mom if I remain sane, so I can actually take care of my baby and myself.
  • My ideas and values regarding parenthood will change, and I will mess up sometimes. Little known fact: Parents are humans.

So, other mothers: what are some things you learned about being a mom? Also, did you ever have crazy mommy fears? I have a recurring fear that I am going to forget to put Champ’s car seat in the car and drive off, leaving my defenseless baby alone in a shopping cart or in a parking lot somewhere. Ah! It mortifies me just thinking about it!

2 thoughts on “Commencing Mom-dom

  1. Letting your little man learn to soothe himself to sleep while he’s still really little makes a big difference once they get older. I always put Devlin to bed while he was still awake (except those middle of the night times when he was super tiny and fell asleep while eating). Now he’s two and he goes to bed on his own each night. We tuck him in, give him kisses and walk away. Sure, he gets up some nights and yells and we put him back to bed, but overall he goes to bed on his own. Having to rock a two year old to sleep and tiptoe out of the room never seemed like a good plan!

  2. mirrors: buy ones w/ plastic frames, it entertains both my kids for up to 1/2 an hour. i love the “little known fact.” and one of my all time favorite quotes: “housework done properly WILL kill you.” as for fears, honestly, i was terrified to have a girl. what if she wants to always wear pink and be a cheerleader? *shudder* the biggest issue i had being a mom was that i wasnt able to breastfeed, and i felt extremely inadequate as a mother for that, and i had to get over that, so w/ the ppd, i cried about that for weeks on end. i still get twinges of “i’m a horrible mommy” all the time. but i just look at my kids and realize how happy they are and it helps. OH! and i’ve never forgot a kid in a shopping cart, but i cant remember how many times i’ve forgotten my purse! Thank goodness for nice people returning it to customer service!

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

