Cloth Diapers

2013 update: Flip diapers are still wonderful, but be sure to buy the ORGANIC inserts. They cost a bit more, but last nearly indefinitely. Stay away from microfiber or “stay dry” inserts, unless you don’t care that they lose all absorbency after one year. The BumGenius Elementals were redesigned in early 2013, and the results were disastrous. Apparently they are now in the process of being redesigned. The original design (see image below) are wonderful, so I’m really hoping they go back to that design. Read more about Cloth Diapering on my post Cloth Diapering Disaster.

I just spent the last 7 hours trying to figure out which cloth diapers we should buy for Little Champ. And that 7 hours was basically just figuring out all the different combinations of 3 types of diapers in order to get 24.

Basically, I want to use Flip diapers and BumGenius Elemental All-in-one diapers. Both of them are one size fits all (7 lbs to 35 lbs), so we should be able to use them for quite some time. The Flip diapers have inserts that you fold into them. When the baby is wet, you toss the just the insert into your diaper pail and replace it with a new one, keeping the same cover. Then you wash the inserts and the covers.

Flip Diaper Covers

The Elemental All-in-Ones (AIOs) are nice because they work just like disposable diapers. You don’t have to change inserts or liners; you just toss the whole diaper into the diaper pail until you are ready to wash.

The BG Elemental AIO

BumGenius also has pocket diapers that are One-size (OS), the 4.0. These are more expensive than the Flip diapers, but extra inserts cost less than the extra inserts for the Flip diapers.

AIOs are the most convenient, but because they don’t have liners that you interchange, they are more expensive, you have to wash the entire diaper and can’t reuse part of it, and they take longer to dry. In other words, they probably aren’t the best for newborns, who go through 8-10 diapers every day (A 12-pack of Elemental AIOs costs $265).

So basically I spent all morning (6:00 am-1:30 pm) trying to figure out the best combination of BumGenius Elemental AIOs, Flip covers, Flip inserts, BumGenius 4.0s, and BumGenius 4.0 inserts which would last 24 diaper changes.

All About Cloth Diapers basically saved my life.

Here’s the plan: I am going to use disposable diapers until Little Champ’s diapers are not filled with newborn tar (aka “meconium.” I wouldn’t advise you to look this up). Preferably, I will use the Tushies brand, since they aren’t filled will the icky chemicals in the other disposables brands.

I am going to buy 2 daypacks of Flip Diapers (4 covers, 12 inserts) plus 12 more inserts before Little Champ is born (< $150). If they fit him when he is born, I am going to use those and wash diapers every 1.5-2 days. If they do not fit him, I will get some diapers specifically for newborns—ones that are not one-size-fits-all. Still, I would like to avoid that if possible, since he should be able to fit in the OSs at 2 months or so, if not at birth. I don’t want to buy diapers I can go without, especially ones I would only be able to use for a few of weeks.

I am also going to buy a 6-pack of the BumGenius Elemental AIOs ($135). I probably won’t start using them until he’s about 6 months old, though—after he is introduced to solids and he doesn’t need to be changed as much.

Ahhh. I am glad that is done with. Now I just have to pick the colors and order them :)

For more information about cloth diapering, its benefits, and reviews of different brands, check out the All About Cloth Diapering blog.

To our friend, Flip, I hope you are not offended that the brand of cloth we will be wrapping around our baby’s tushie is also called “Flip.” What can I say? Perhaps I will buy you one and embroider your portrait on it.

9 thoughts on “Cloth Diapers

    • Every review I have heard on the subject says that cloth diapers are WAY better than disposables when it comes to blow-outs. People might get one or two a month when they were getting one or two a day before with disposables. I think it is one of the main reasons (besides cost, health, and environment) that people “switch” to cloth.

      The Rumparoos Brand is supposed to be the best when it comes to blow-outs. Check out a review here.

  1. Hey, you don’t know me but I’m a friend of Natalie Glesener’s. She sent me the link to your blog, since I’m also pregnant and also going to use cloth diapers (and very excited about it). You might consider disposable inserts for your Flips for the meconium diapers. I have 5 Flip covers, but am planning on using prefolds until our baby girl is big enough to fit them and our stash of pocket diapers given to me. I actually got our Flips barely used off craig’s list for $50–I was pretty stoked! Good luck with your cloth diaper journey!

    • That’s great! I am hoping to find some used or discounted–no luck yet.
      I considered the flip disposables, but I have read quite a few reviews that were really unsatisfied with them. The main thing is whether our baby will be able to wear OSs, or if he will be too small for them. I might just end up getting prefolds to last him the first month. Then I can use them for newborns to come, or at least for rags :P

  2. Hi! You posted on my blog about cloth diapers and I’m sorry it took so long to respond. Mommy-hood, you know, has a way of keeping you busy! =) Thanks for the link though. How is it going for you? I am waiting on some new diapers to be shipped to me from a friend who makes them! She is making all-in-ones for $10 and they look really nice! I can’t wait to try them and if you want, I’ll let you know how they work out for me.

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

