30 & 31

Ah, it has been a busy 2 weeks.

Getting a new washer and dryer, starting Lamaze classes, going to a HUGE change of command ceremony, making only 31 bucks at our garage sale (but finding $34 in change in various places of our house), arranging the household books according to Dewey decimal classification (nerd fest!), learning that cockroaches can fly, writing our family newsletter, reading Jhumpa Lahiri and Li-Young Lee, planning the baby nursery, looking into cloth diapers, playing bananagrams with LT and Henry, sanding and priming a desk to be painted, assembling a bookshelf, unpacking and cleaning, rearranging, getting Henry microchipped, writing some poetry for the first time in months, and uploading photos. (Oh, is that all?)

LT and Henry between rounds of Bananagrams

Speaking of random things, the Old Spice Man commercials are completely amusing. I like them even more because LT wears Old Spice (I have always loved the smell of Old Spice, since I was little) and can do all of those things in the commercial. Like building my dream kitchen with his hands, baking me a gourmet cake, driving 30 ton vehicles, giving me diamonds, running on the beach, etc. He can do it in uniform, too. And of course he is jaw-droppingly alluring in a towel. Plus he has chest hair. Mmmmm…combat boots and towel…

*COUGH COUGH*

So, about the child growing inside me. Seriously, our baby is so weird. He totally loves Nirvana! He tumbles around so much whenever one comes up on my Pandora playlist. He especially likes songs from their “In Utero” album. Ironic…

I am thinking of doing his nursery in an animal alphabet theme. We have already got a cute Noah’s ark print I found at a Goodwill for $4, and we have animal safari crib sheets (still no crib). Plus we bought him a tiger stuffed animal, and I just added a cute little alligator to that collection.

Still, I absolutely love the idea of making his room a forest animal theme, with foxes and owls and bears and squirrels, etc. etc. So I am just going to stick with the animal alphabet for now, and make his room in our next house all Narnia-esque. That will be in 2 years, so he will be getting a big boy bed. Plus, we might already be planning on adding a new baby to the picture by then, so #2 baby can get all the animal alphabet stuff when he/she is born.

Planning ahead much? Yes, well, I am a military wife. I can’t plan a month or even 2 days in advance, but I sure can plan a couple years in advance, whether those plans come to fruition or not.

Anyway, at 30 weeks Little Champ’s brain was beginning to fold and look like an adult brain. His fingernails and toenails were done developing (but they will keep growing! I need to get some baby nail clippers…).

Baby is starting to shed his lanugo—the downy hair that was covering his skin. Now that he’s chubbier and better able to regulate his body temp, he doesn’t need to sport a fur coat 24/7.

“I spy an umbilical cord and the inside of my mom’s uterus!” When your baby is awake, his eyes are now wide open and he’s whittling away the hours looking around, checking out his rather dark, limited environs.

Your baby hasn’t gained much weight or height this week, as most of his energy’s been channeled to the brain. He weighs about 3 pounds and is approximately 15.5 inches long, about the size of London, not the city, Britney Spears’ Yorkie terrier. Of course your baby is less hairy and way cuter!

ParentsConnect

Now at 31 weeks, he is 3 and half pounds and 16 inches. He will be gaining about a half pound every week until he’s born. I’m wondering how quickly he will catch up to Henry, who is 6 months old and 6 pounds.

(Henry was about 4 pounds when we found him 2 months ago. Who wants to figure out the little math problem?)

By now, your baby’s lungs are the only system not fully mature. And by mature, we’re not saying that the rest of your baby’s systems are mature enough to be out past 10 PM with the neighborhood hooligan, just that her lungs need a little bit more time to bake before they can kick it in the outside world.

ParentsConnect

ParentsConnect had a link to a site that makes “Mommy Cards”—a spin on a business card for moms to exchange so they can make mommy friends and set up playdates for their kids. What a cute idea! I am totally going to make one, designing it myself of course (you didn’t know I’m a graphic designer? Well, I am!)

But first we will have to come up with a name for our son. He should probably be born first, too. I don’t think I will be handing those puppies out in the delivery ward…

I had read that some people grab letters out of a hat and name their baby that way. LT and I attempted the idea using Bananagrams tiles. Unfortunately, I don’t think we found any real possibilities for Little Champ, even if some of them were pretty amazing:

Mojukie Xaslio Nantoifle?
Shpoalitteol Obvam Greeesy?
Mojo Oiti?
Xale Suki Fannle?
Fughsven Xiofwit?
Quoxfenud Wartshvants?
Ernvid Guggephko?

Hey, these are pretty pronounceable, considering some names I have come across. Even very innocent looking names can be deceiving, like Anna (pronounced Ann-uh or Ah-nah) or Stephen (which I like to pronounce Stef-en, though everyone else seems to read it Steve-en).

Hmmm. 3:17 already, and all I have done today is go across town and design business cards for some people, have lunch, upload photos, and write this blog. I’d better get some housework done before LT comes home and whisks me off to Lamaze class.

Toodles!

UPDATE:
After posting this, Little Champ got restless and began knocking against my chest, creating tennis-ball-sized protrusions which reminded me of the scarab scene in The Mummy.

Yes, like that. Thankfully I am not a creepy hairy man, much to the relief of my husband, especially, but also to me and probably anyone who has ever seen me in a dress or swimming suit.

4 thoughts on “30 & 31

  1. I LOVE the animal alphabet idea =-) I cannot wait for your little guy to be born so I can have all new updates on ya’ll!!

    • Thanks! I can’t wait for him either!

      I love your mural. It’s so cute!

      I bought some canvases to paint animals on. I wanted something that we could take with us to our next house (and probably use on our next baby!)

  2. If my parents weren’t going to live here for the next umpteenth years I would’ve used canvases too instead of my brother painting on the wall. Plus you can do alot of awesome things with them, and it’s so much easier to deal with in military housing. I’m excited to see what creative ideas you guys come up with for it!

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

