14 weeks and ultrasound!

Ooooooo, Child, thing’s are gonna be easier…Now that we’re in the second trimester…

(I have been singing that a lot this week. I started singing other songs to Little Champ, too, even though he/she can’t actually hear me yet)

Anyway… Second Trimester and our first ultrasound! Woohoo!

Before you get distracted at how incredibly adorable our baby is, even in utero, I will briefly describe our week. Because I know that you are desperately wanting to hear about it. And if you don’t, I won’t know that you skipped over my discourse unless you confess it to me.

***Romantic Weekend with LT***

The week itself was fairly uneventful. Friday we were hoping to get tickets to see Beauty and the Beast at the local high school, but they were sold out, so we went to the movie theatre and got tickets to see Bounty Hunter. Of course, after we bought the tickets we realized that the show wasn’t for another 2 hours. Whoops…

So we went to the mall and spent time at Barnes & Noble, walking out with a Bollywood workout video (I’ll let you guess which one of us that is for) and Season One of Gilligan’s Island.

Then we saw the movie, which was quite entertaining and funny, though it did have an awkward scene in a gentleman’s club with (obviously) nudity. Other than that, it was a really fun show.

Saturday we went to a ball for LT’s battalion in New Bern, NC, and stayed at a really great Bed & Breakfast. After the Ball, we took advantage of the jacuzzi tub and then sunk into the king-sized bed (with sheets from heaven and 4 down pillows that felt like we were sleeping on clouds) and watched a couple of episodes of Gilligan’s Island before going to bed.

(Side note: The never-aired pilot of GI has different actors and a Cuban-style theme song. Gilligan, the Skipper, and the Howells are the same. The professor wasn’t a professor, he was a high school teacher that looked like a sleazy used car salesman from Miami. (This was especially offensive, because I LOVE the professor! He reminds me of my dad.) Ginger was a secretary with a bad attitude that was bitter and mean towards Gilligan, and instead of the adorable Mary Ann, they had another secretary. Her name was Bunny. And yes, she was a dumb blonde.

It made me so happy to watch the REAL Gilligan’s Island I grew up with (reruns of it, anyway). And during the next episode, I started laughing so hard that I could barely breathe, coughing and wheezing with tears coming out of my eyes. I kind of scared my dear husband. Man, I love that show, and I am so happy that LT loves it, too, so that our kids can grow up watching it with us.

Sunday morning I was freezing when I had to get out from under the covers. Our room had a space heater, which we conveniently forgot about. Breakfast was amazing, and it was served to us by a cast member of the Broadway run of Billy Elliot, apparently, who was home for the week.

I had a pretty terrible stuffy nose and was exhausted by the time we got to church. When we found out that the picnic was going to be on the beach, we decided not to go because it was so windy outside, and it was supposed to rain. So LT took me home and tucked me into our bed, where I took a 3 hour nap. Then we stayed in and watched Doctor Who episodes. As wonderful and special as the bed and breakfast was, I still really enjoy staying at home with my husband.

Okay, okay, okay. Baby time.

***Heeeeeeeeere’s our baby!***

Baby Willard!

Baby Willard at 14.5 weeks

The sonogram machine felt weird! The lady kept poking me at the end to get the baby to turn over again. I felt like the Pillsbury Doughboy. Without the sound effects. The technician also said that the baby was 4 oz, but now we kind of wonder if she meant inches, since the average baby is about 1 1/2 oz and 3 1/2 inches during the 14th week. And she said we were right on track, development-wise, so we are not expecting a 10 pound baby :)

Anyway, we got to hear baby’s heartbeat, and Little Champ moved for us a little bit. But the ultrasound was pretty short. The technician said that the baby is nice and healthy. I got blood taken and didn’t even cry or pass out! If you know me, you might know that I am totally freaked out about anyone or anything touching my veins, so not freaking out or injuring anyone is pretty much a miracle.

***Baby Developments***

Little Champ should be about 1-2 oz and 3 1/2 inches long (about the size of a lemon or (closed) flip phone. Or an index card.

Our baby can move around gracefully now, and because of that, has fingerprints!

Check it out:

Your baby now has fingerprints! Book ’em, Danno! Believe it or not, he actually created them himself while swimming around in the amniotic fluid. As he moved his hands, the skin on the tips of his fingers formed unique ridges and folds. That’s why no one on earth has the same fingerprints, not even identical twins! Cool, right? Parents Connect

Baby can also make facial expressions, something that will be very handy in the Willard household, and can grasp and even suck on his or her thumbs. And Little Champ can now urinate. Isn’t that nice.

My mom is flying in this afternoon, and we will probably set out to Minnesota on Wednesday. We are hoping to get there in 3 days. I have plenty of homework that desperately needs to get done, so I am praying that I will be able to do it in the car without getting carsick. I am also hoping we don’t have to pull over every half hour.

But before she gets here, this living room is overdue for a vaccuuming. So this mama needs to get to work.

Next week I will update from MN. Happy Easter everyone!

3 thoughts on “14 weeks and ultrasound!

  1. hey, didn’t know if u know it, but amniotic fluid IS baby’s pee… fun to think about huh? well, momma’s body does produce X amount, but baby provides Y, to equal… A? lol.. remember math?

  2. Apparently the woman gets a pregnancy glow in the second trimester. I don’t know where that’s gone on my wife!!

    You might enjoy my blog if you want to know how your partner might be feeling during your pregnancy!

    All the best,

    Ben

This is the comment fountain! Drop your two cents here.

